new year new goals

by brittniinink

2016 was a really special year for me, for many reasons. It was full of growth and change, creativity, and joy. But I regret not writing more. I started three novels and finished none of them. I would write resolutely for a week or so and then doubt myself or the work and avoid it for weeks on end. Even NaNoWriMo didn’t keep me motivated. Writing has always been a significant part of my life, and I feel less connected with myself and my world when I neglect it. So for 2017, my main goal is to focus on writing.

One way I’m going to do this is take on the 100 Rejection Challenge. The idea is to submit as much of your work as possible, and celebrate when you receive rejections, because at least you put your writing out into the world. It’s also to help build submitting to magazines and publishers into your normal writing routine. A friend of mine did it last year and a few other writing friends are doing it this year, so I’m looking forward to the discussions I’m sure will come out of our experiences.

Another way I’m hoping to focus on writing is to start a Facebook page for keeping track of my rejections (and hopefully occasional acceptance). This way, I can keep myself accountable. It’ll also be interesting to look back on my writing journey at the end of the year and maybe make some new goals.

So much to look forward to, and so much to write about. A happy and creative 2017 to us all!

 

 

