2/ 100 Rejection Challenge

by brittniinink

So far, I’m off to a good start.

I’ve started a writer Facebook page to keep myself accountable and share writing opportunities I happen upon.

I’ve submitted two pieces of writing for consideration.

I’ve gone through all of my old writing and organized it so it’s easier to find specific pieces based on submission requirements.

But even now, I’m feeling a little nervous.

I can’t keep recycling the same stories. I’m going to have to write new things. And that is a daunting task. I’ve set November as a good time to have some polished novel manuscripts to send out, but that still seems scary close.

Fear is definitely a reason I don’t write as much as I should. I’m afraid of not being good enough, of what people are going to think, if I’m being too cruel to my characters, if I’m being too safe with my narratives.

Realizing the effect fear has on my writing has helped. I actually start a document or edit an old one, instead of intentionally distracting myself. But when it gets down to the deep and dirty act of putting new words on a page, I still choke a little.

Here’s hoping the more rejections I get, the easier it will be to write.

